Send link

Life Science Inkubator

The Life Science Inkubator supports teams at central locations in Bonn and Dresden, who want to start a business and dare to take the leap from the laboratory to business.

Copyright: 
Life Science Inkubator GmbH

There are many hurdles to overcome when starting a company in the life sciences based on research results with promising potential for application. Long development cycles and high research costs, as well as a lack of knowledge in operational and business management carry a particularly high degree of risk for all parties involved. As is the case with GO-Bio, this is where the Life Science Inkubator (LSI) comes in. The LSI supports the practical development of products and technologies in the life sciences. Several spin-offs have been successfully created as a result.

Excellent conditions at a central location

The LSI supports researchers who want to start a business and aims to prevent failure owing to financial reality prior to the completion of innovative development and application. In Bonn and Dresden, researchers find modern and well-equipped research institutes to develop their ideas for commercial exploitation. In addition, they receive business training. Project and personnel costs are completely covered during that time and LSI-employees take care of ongoing financing. Furthermore, the LSI develops a viable, ‘IP strategy’ to protect intellectual property.

The LSI as public-private partnership

The LSI originated as a public-private partnership in Bonn in 2008 and has been in operation since 2009. In addition to the BMBF, partners include the Ministry of Culture and Science from the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, the Helmholtz Association, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, the research institute Caesar, the NRW.BANK and the Stadtsparkasse Bonn. Since 201, the Life Science Inkubator Sachsen has been a second location for potential founders of life sciences companies in Dresden. The BMBF funds projects in the pre-start-up stage, which have been accepted by the LSI, on a rotational basis with the participating state ministries.

PREVIOUS BMBF-FUNDED LSI PROJECTS

At the LSI Bonn:

  • Development of a new kind of transfection system for targeted transport of agents in cells, based on “virus-like particles” (“VLP technology”)

  • Mesentech – New kind of regenerative cell therapy for treating patients who suffer from peripheral retinal degeneration based on bone marrow stem cells

  • Provios – Epigenetical early diagnosis of carcinoma, prostate and bladder cancer in particular

  • Monikit – Development of a system to detect and record epileptic seizures

  • CLICKMER Systems – Alternative detection reagents for diagnostics and research

At the LSI Dresden:

  • ProDetekt – Development of new, highly sensitive ELISA and point-of-care immunoassays for the research and diagnostics market
  • SmartNanotubes – Production of homogeneous single-walled nanotubes for utilisation in biosensorics

Adjustment of the LSI strategy

To optimise funding, pool existing resources, as well as improve technology transfer, the LSI strategy has been extended in various ways over the last few years.

Decentralisation

Meanwhile, the LSI also operates supra-regionally, because it doesn’t always make sense for a project to move to the sites in Bonn and Dresden. This is especially true if expensive devices can be used at the home institute and at the same time it would exhaust the LSI’s capacity if new devices had to be acquired. Therefore, the LSI has been testing what is known as the decentralised incubation since 2014. In that case, the LSI teams don’t work at the central location, but project management and corporate development remain integral parts of the projects.

Founding without founder

Beyond that, the LSI has set its objective to promote commercially promising technologies from German research institutions even if the respective inventors don’t want to start a business. Since 2014, the incubation concept “Founding without founder” has been put in place to continue using and applying inactive life sciences technologies. The project team is then newly formed in accordance with the requirements.

FURTHER INFORMATION:
Back to top of page

Link versenden

Life Science Inkubator

Der Life Science Inkubator unterstützt gründungswillige Teams, die den Sprung vom Labor in die Wirtschaft wagen, in einer frühen Projektphase an zentralen Standorten in Bonn und Dresden.

Copyright: 
Life Science Inkubator GmbH

Die Hürden sind hoch, um aus Forschungsergebnissen mit vielversprechendem Anwendungspotenzial ein Unternehmen in den Lebenswissenschaften zu gründen. Insbesondere die langen Entwicklungszyklen und die hohen Forschungskosten sowie fehlende Kenntnisse in Betriebs- und Unternehmensführung bergen vielfach ein hohes Risiko für die Beteiligten. Ähnlich wie GO-Bio setzt hier auch der Life Science Inkubator (LSI) an. Der LSI fördert die anwendungsorientierte Entwicklung von Produkten und Technologien in den Lebenswissenschaften. Auf diese Weise konnten inzwischen mehrere Ausgründungen erfolgreich auf den Weg gebracht werden.

Beste Bedingungen an zentralem Standort

Der LSI unterstützt gründungswillige Forschende, damit sie nicht an der ökonomischen Realität scheitern, bevor ihre zukunftsweisenden Entwicklungen und Anwendungen abgeschlossen sind. In Bonn und Dresden finden sie ein modernes und gut ausgestattetes Forschungsinstitut vor, um ihre Ideen mit Blick auf die kommerzielle Verwertung weiter auszuarbeiten. Zusätzlich werden sie für ihre zukünftige unternehmerische Tätigkeit geschult. Die Projekt- und Personalkosten sind in dieser Zeit hundertprozentig gedeckt und LSI-Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter kümmern sich um eine nachhaltige Anschlussfinanzierung. Darüber hinaus wird am LSI eine tragfähige Strategie zum Schutz des geistigen Eigentums, eine sogenannte IP-Strategie, entwickelt.

Der LSI als Public-Private-Partnership

Der LSI ist 2008 zunächst in Bonn als Public-Private-Partnership entstanden und arbeitet seit 2009 operativ. Zu den Partnern zählt nicht nur das BMBF, sondern unter anderem auch das Wissenschaftsministerium des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, das Forschungszentrum caesar, die NRW.Bank und die Stadtsparkasse Bonn. Seit 2013 gibt es mit dem Life Science Inkubator Sachsen einen zweiten Standort für Gründungswillige in den Lebenswissenschaften in Dresden. Das BMBF fördert abwechselnd mit den beteiligten Landesministerien Projekte in der Vorgründungsphase, die zur Inkubation vom LSI aufgenommen wurden.

Bisherige vom BMBF geförderte LSI-Projekte

am LSI Bonn:

  • Entwicklung eines neuartigen Transfektionssystems zum zielgerichteten Transport von Wirkstoffen in Zellen basierend auf "Virus-like-Particles" ("VLP-Technologie")
  • Mesentech – Neuartige, regenerative Zelltherapie zur Behandlung von Patienten mit Netzhautdegenerationen auf der Basis von Stammzellen des Knochenmarks
  • Provios – Epigenetische Frühdiagnostik von Karzinomen, insbesondere des Prostata- und Blasenkarzinoms

am LSI Dresden:

  • ProDetekt – Entwicklung neuer, hochsensitiver ELISA und point-of-care-Immunoassays für den Forschungs- und Diagnostikmarkt
  • SmartNanotubes – Herstellung sortenreiner Single Wall Carbon Nanotubes für den Einsatz in der Biosensorik

Anpassung der LSI-Strategie

Um die Förderung zu optimieren, vorhandene Ressourcen stärker zu bündeln sowie den Technologietransfer zu verbessern, wurde die LSI-Strategie in den letzten Jahren auf unterschiedliche Weise weiterentwickelt.

Dezentralisierung

Inzwischen ist der LSI auch überregional tätig, denn nicht immer ist der Umzug eines Projekts zu den Standorten in Bonn und Dresden sinnvoll. Vor allem dann nicht, wenn teure Geräte am Heimatinstitut des Projektteams genutzt werden können und gleichzeitig solche Neuanschaffungen die Kapazitäten des LSI sprengen würden. Deshalb erprobt der LSI seit 2014 auch die sogenannte dezentrale Inkubation. Die LSI-Teams arbeiten dann nicht am zentralen Standort, doch Projektsteuerung und Unternehmensentwicklung bleiben weiterhin fester organisatorischer Bestandteil in den Projekten.

Gründen ohne Gründer

Darüber hinaus hat sich der LSI zum Ziel gesetzt, kommerziell vielversprechende Technologien aus deutschen Forschungseinrichtungen auch dann voranzutreiben, wenn die jeweiligen Erfinderinnen und Erfinder selbst nicht in die Wirtschaft gehen wollen. Seit 2014 besteht das Inkubationskonzept „Gründen ohne Gründer“ mit dem Ziel, brachliegende Technologien aus den Lebenswissenschaften weiter zu nutzen und zur Anwendung zu bringen. Gemäß den jeweiligen Erfordernissen wird das Projektteam dann erst neu gebildet.

Weitere Informationen
Back to top of page